14 February 2010

Pasta Weezie!

Now I know many people don't celebrate Valentine's Day because it is a "hallmark" holiday.  I have a few thoughts on this whole issue.  First, regardless of it being a "hallmark" holiday or not, there REALLY is a St. Valentine; second - is it really so terrible to set a day aside to spend with the ones you love?  I realize that we all should tell and show the ones in our lives that we love, we love them everyday, but let's be real people - we all have bad days and don't necessarily put forth our best effort to support and be kind to those that are important to us.  SUCK IT UP and take a minute, five or heck, twenty-four hours to do something nice for those you really value in your life.  GET OVER THE HARD ASS STIGMA - "happy singles awareness day" or whatever you call it - so you don't currently have a significant other; I bet if you take 3.5 seconds to think about it you have MANY SIGNIFICANT people in your life that would appreciate a "thank you, "I love you", "you make my days better"...I am so tired of people letting society and others dictate their emotions.  You feel and act how you CHOOSE to feel and act so if you are going to be a "negative Nancy" perhaps that is why you are lacking a signifcant other.  If you are not one of the aforementioned, then perhaps, you truly value your morals and are not willing to lower your standards and expectations to simply have a companion - if you are this person, I appreciate you!  You should thus spend Valentine's Day loving yourself =)  You are strong, independent and unwilling to accept less than what you deserve and you know the value of your own love! 

Steve and I decided we would have a "low key" Valentines Day...not spend a lot of money and do something at home for dinner.  SO, we decided to FINALLY use the authentic Italian pasta maker my Dad got me for my birthday (June) and make some homemade pasta sauce while we were at it.  It turned out pretty tasty if I do say so and it was fun to make a meal at home with him.  That is one of the things I really enjoy doing with Steve when we are both home - make homemade meals together!  We have braved pizza from scratch, halloween sugar cookies from scratch (icing and all) and now pasta!  Every time we always end up spending way more than a few hours doing what we thought would be only an hour prep for a meal - lol...we should really know better by now!  In any case, here are a few pictures from our pasta tonight!  The first is with Steve using his pasta rolling skills and the thin white pieces are all the pasta pieces drying in order for use to cut them with the pasta machine into strips...the latter, of course, our tasty homemade, from scratch meal =)  Homemade pasta really does taste much better than store bought - is this because of all the hard work one puts in to create it?  Who knows, all I know is that I was taken back to my time in Italia this past May...sigh...one day we will return...

12 February 2010

Walmart Adventures

Steve and I went to Walmart on Lakeshore on Thursday evening to pick up a few items after buying our new freezer for the half cow we are getting.  

As we were walking into Walmart there was a grill sitting in the parking lot next to a Buick with four people in it.  At first, Steve thought that they may be waiting for someone else to come and load the grill.  I thought it was strange overall but we just went in to the store.

As we were leaving about 30 minutes later, the Buick was still there, the people still inside of it and the Grill still sitting next to the car and the cart return.  Suspicious, possibly not...until you notice the hose still attached the grill with the price tag and chain to keep it from being stolen.  Great Job Walmart on your theft protection; Great job theives on your escape plan - next time you may want to bring a getaway car that fits large items with four people...just a thought

09 February 2010

ONE shoe? Really people?

I would first like to say that I have tried MULTIPLE times to connect my blackberry to this blog - sent pictures, text, etc - but to no avail it is going to internet lala land apparently - grrr...

As I was driving today I encountered, not one, but two shoes in the middle of the road.  Now, mind you, these were not a pair of shoes, they were two seperate shoes, in two totally different places on Morgan Rd.  They did not belong to young children, unless of course, young children wear heels and like size 10 aqua shoes.  I have always wondered, how does one lose ONE shoe in the middle of the road?  Were you driving and decided that your resting foot needed some air?  Or, were you on the phone while driving, get mad at something the other person said and when hitting the dashboard didn't fulfill your craving for rage, decide it was best to chuck your ONE shoe out the window?  If so, I bet you are really regretting that choice now.  Those shoes are probably out of production and no longer in your size - let's just hope they weren't your "favorite" pair.  Perhaps you had a carful of shoes and one day decided it was time to clean house - maybe you should have thought that one out a little better - just like there are starving children, there are also barefoot children - I heard that consignment shops give money for shoes in good condition, too.  But, now you can't even do that since the one shoe is in the middle of Morgan road, weathering the elements and 2 ton cars and trucks driving over it.  Nice job ace.