Today I went on the treadmill at the gym for 30 minutes. Key part of this previous sentence, went on, not RAN on...HA!
I am so cardiovascularly out of shape it is ridiculous - my heart doctor told me I need to strengthen my heart to reduce my palpitations and get my heart rate up and likewise, increasing my blood pressure. Isn't that the opposite of what most people are told? I eat enough salt for a daily salt lick and my blood pressure is still incrediably low. Explains why I almost used to and sometimes still do practically faint when I stand up.
SO, today, since my class was cancelled upon arrival, I drove to the sporting goods store, bought a sports bra, socks, pants and shirt and then drove to the gym. I decided that today would be the most appropriate day of all to put my 50 dollar per month gym membership to good use since ummm perhaps last October and that is being generous!
SO, I thought to myself, I will go on the treadmill. Avoid the gym meatheads and stick with a cardio machine. My headphones broke last week so I figured I would just watch a tv show and try to read lips...that should keep me occupied for 30 minutes, right? WRONG. The tv on my treadmill only works with headphones plugged in. DUMB. What do deaf people do? They don't need the headphones so why waste the energy? Then I decided I would walk for say, 10 minutes then run for a few and walk some more - you get the idea. Well time did NOT pass quickly. I counted meatheads walking into the gym from the second floor window. I tried to guess the names of cars driving by outside. I color coded people by their shirts. I tried to guess the barbeque people were leaving with from the Johnny Ray's next door. I tried to peek at the time left and heart rates of the two men running on both sides of me. Epic Fail on all accounts. I started counting in my head. Then I started a mantra - One more minute, One more minute - for 29 minutes.
Needless to say, on all accounts, I will be purchasing new headphones. I ran a total of perhaps 10 minutes and walked the other 20 in a mixed combo...not bad for an exasperated couch potato.
Tomorrow I am swimming.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

No comments:
Post a Comment