18 May 2010

To live is to suffer, to survive is to find meaning in the suffering

After reading my incrediably insightful, raw and honest friend's blog, I am brought once again to ponder my own meaning in life.  Not in a negative way.  Rather, in a way that will bring about clarity in my choices and driven path on this journey. 

I have read Man's Search for Meaning by V. Frankl a great many times already.  However, when I begin to get down and feel lost along my path, I find the encouragement and hope I am looking for deep within his words of this book.  Perhaps I should look into expanding my literary knowledge by reading a few other books by famous existentialists. 

For now, mostly due to the constraits of an impedending non-existent income, I will choose to re-read this book, I would say over the next few days.  But, let's be real people.  I will probably read the whole thing tonight in an hour and a half tops (135 pgs).  I read quickly.  I devor knowledge in books that I find interesting. 

 Steve is always amazed at the fact that I re-read all of my books that I currently own - several times over and I never get bored.  I gather knew information and potential for growth each time. 

So, after I read Mr. Frankl's words of wisdom this evening, I have decided I will journal.  First on paper in bed and then on the blog.  Perhaps a simple stream of conciousness.  Who knows.  Wherever I am taken to. 

13 May 2010

Finding my own path through a friend's quote...

I was reading a collegiate friend's blog this evening and happened to stumble upon some words that ring true for me to the core of my soul...I hope my dear friend does not mind that I have posted her beautifully written quote in my blog as I feel it is a great art to use words that pull at the depths of one's mind and heart to create meaning in this life.  Reading her blog has always provided me with insight which I believe I lack most of the time.  She writes so eloquently and passionately.  I strive to have her enthusiasm and heart in life.  Thank you Renee...

"strive for an existence worthy of your ideals and demand a life of meaning. refuse to settle for less than what you deserve, even if you are unaware of what you desire. follow your heart and you are sure to find the way. embrace the moments when your path is unclear, and remember to marvel upon the little things that would otherwise pass you by. aim to fill each day’s hours fueled by passion, shared with others, and inspired by hope. celebrate the road already traveled but never, never stop dreaming – for tonight’s slumber paves tomorrow’s adventure" ~rlk~

12 May 2010

Un viaggio in maggio

Below is a link to my blog from my trip last May that I took with a few other graduate students to Italy to learn more about counseling overseas.  I took some time today to briefly reflect on my trip last year and what it meant to me. Check it out.  The last entry on that blog was what I wrote today.  It was meaningful to go back and read my blog from the beginning of the two weeks.  Each passage brought back vivid memories - memories that I could see, taste, smell and feel with my entire body.  Memories that provided me with much needed reflection.  I plan to write over the next few weeks as I take time out of my busy life to reflect on the deeper meanings... http://italiancounselingtravels.blogspot.com/

In all things, great and small, happy or sad, life is good.  I know this in my heart of hearts.  Sometimes I just need a moment to remind me...

07 May 2010

Your Wii age is....

Today really hasn't been my day for physical activity.  Actually, when I think about it, it is more likely that the past few years haven't really been my sunny spot for physical activity.  Today was just a nice swatch of icing on the cake - ha!

I am always so tired lately and well intended to continue working out.  But, the gym BORES the hell out of me.  I was so in shape in high school and even in college.  Now I get winded walking anywhere and pretty dizzy, too.  I decided to turn on the Wii fit again today...For like the first time in like 4 months.

  Steve wasn't at home so I figured I could test my skills without being laughed at.  Well, the damn thing made me re-check my body test - weight, BMI, balance and coordination.  So, apparently, in the last few months my BMI has only gone up a percent but stayed "normal".  It proceeds to chart this for me to see and then weighs me.  Whatever, I don't really care about my weight, usually...Until it made a grand entrance on the large TV screen.  Wii apparently wanted to congratulate me on "meeting my goal"  even if it took a little longer than normal.  It told me that I had worked out long and hard to reach this goal and I should not give up even after meeting it; I should set a new goal.  Wow, that's really great.  I didn't do much of anything and I met my goal - I wish other things in life were this easy.  Until it told me what I did.  I gained 10 pounds.  WOW, in 4 months, spiffy.  Maybe now my damn doctor will quit yelling at me to stop losing weight.  Seeing as to how I have managed to do just the opposite in record time! I am now a certified chunkus monkus. Don't worry wii fit, my new goal is to lose 10 pounds in a month...guess I better get moving. 

Next up is the balance and coordination testing - this ought to be fun.  I mean, come on now, I danced on my toes for quite a few years, spun in circles without getting dizzy, did the splits and high kicks without pulling hamstrings or kicking myself in the face - no problem, right?  HAHAHA - according to wii "donkey" my center of balance is still pretty good, but my hand eye coordination is awful as well as my eye foot coordination.  It actually asked me if I found myself tripping quite frequently and running into things- I asked it if it found itself getting punched in the face often.  It didn't respond.  Probably because it knew that even if I aimed well I would still miss!

That should have been my clue to just go sleep in the hammock....

Wii then proceeded to calculate my age - I am now 43.  My parents had me when they were 12.  It's cool.

I shut it off and left the house.

Still thinking about my nice age of 43, I decided to rollerblade.  Since I rollerbladed constantly back in Michigan, I figured I would pull out my blades and give it a whirl in the neighborhood.  The brake on the back is well worn out but I can T-stop and weave to slow down.  Laced the good ole boys up and headed down the driveway. 

Up the hill onto the next street.  Got on the sidewalk since cars were driving up and down the street coming home from work.  Started up another long hill and when I reached the peak, tried my best to Tstop or brake.  Neither worked.  It's cool.  I have it under control.  I can weave a little on my path to slow down my speed.  Just kidding.  Oh, did I mention the stop sign at the bottom of the hill?  Yea, Fan freaking tastic.  Not gonna happen either.  But, I can finesse my way into a curve and turn to slow myself down.  Negative.  Human catapult.  Large white mailbox and post directly in my line of vision and still going about 700 mph on the wheels.  Think quick.  Prefer not to impale myself this afternoon although my green ensemble would look lovely contrasting with the white mailbox.  Dodge to the right.  Large lawn to crash land on.  Now, why the hell would I stop there?  That would be too easy really.  Instead, my wheels keep burning the midnight oil all the way across the lawn - you would have thought I was on a track surface and not St. Augustine grass.  Hit the curb, bounce, fly forward and strawberry skin my arm.  Somehow land on my ass and bounce into the street.  WHEW.  No one saw, I'm a little bruised but good.

 HAHA - turn around Chunkus Monkus...  Grams, driving her Cutlass Supreme, is sitting behind me mouthing "ouch".  Not, "are you okay" or "need help?", just "ouch".  Well, I sprung up, took a bow, flashed my biggest grin and gave her the thumbs up sign.  Don't worry Grams, I'll be here all week...

It's cool, friends.  You can laugh at me.  I laughed at me. 

I have managed many interesting feats in the last few years.  I ran into a large woman's behind in Disney World and bounced off of her and almost fell backwards.  Good thing that Steve was behind me to catch me.  I fell into a hole in our backyard and twisted my ankle.  Managed to punch myself in the face while ice skating.  Hand eye coordination is seriously a problem for me.  Hey jackass, your hand is headed for your OWN eye, maybe you should stop it from moving or at least move your head.  What did you say?  Oh, move my head, Whoops, too late...And now, I managed to slide and bounce on Rollerblades... down a hill, across a lawn, over a curb and into the street.

Do they offer coordination classes for idiots? 

Don't worry.  For now, I am going to bed.  I'm pretty sure I will think of something to do that is klutz worthy.  I'll let you know when it happens.

12 April 2010

Wedding Wonderland to Thee and Thou

We traveled to Slocomb this past weekend to attend my friend, Lauren Brooke's wedding!  It really was a relaxing and beautiful weekend for an outdoor wedding shindig!  Steve and I drove down on Friday evening and relaxed all day Saturday before heading to the church at 5pm.  The ceremony was beautiful and short and then we got to walk across the street to Lauren's family's home for the outdoor reception!  It was a lot of fun and georgeous weather! 

So, apparently, I am not well versed in my wedding ceremony lingo.  The whole part where the bride and groom say their vows  - I was completely confused what "I thee and thou" meant and why they each had to say it to one another! What are they "theeing and thouing" to one another?! So, Rich and Laura tried to look up what I was talking about and had no luck.  Then, I asked LHo if she remembered the part in her vows where she said this "thee and thou" and....

Wait for it...

...That's right folks, I CAN'T HEAR at ALL!  She started chuckling and said "you mean when we said "I THEE ENDOW?!"  Well, Why yes, silly, of course...

That's what I said, didn't I?!

Thankfully, my friends love me and for the most part, know I can't hear...or I am REALLY blonde...secretly

07 April 2010

Misfit Easter

We had a houseful of company for Easter this year!  Quite honestly, I was nervous at first about entertaining so many guests, but I really enjoyed all of it!

Jade and Gasper arrived on Thursday afternoon and that evening we drove to Montgomery to pick up Khiri! 

Friday, Jade and I went to get "hot stone" massages as a sister activity.  I am not sure who enjoyed the massages more - us or our massage people listening to us talk about the hilarity that is our lives!  We all met up with Steve's grandparents who had an unexpected stop in Alabama due to car troubles on their way back to Michigan from Florida.  I told Steve that the car troubles were God's way of encouraging his grandparents to spend some of the Easter holiday with us.  Then, that evening, Justin arrived to begin the holiday festivities!


We spent Saturday "touring" Birmingham, with stops at Vulcan, Jim N Nicks downtown, Charlemagne Records and Birmingham Botanical Gardens =)  Jade and I made everyone color eggs with us, too!

Sunday, I got up bright and early and went to early church service with Justin and Khiri.  It was a great way to start my morning out.  We then got home and started cooking and sat outside and enjoyed mimosas until dinner!  We had plenty of company for Easter, too! Claire, Rhiannon and Joel joined all of us and participated in the Pinata and Egg Wars!  Steve managed to corral several people for games fo "cornhole" and bocce ball before he "retired" for the evening in the hammock.  I think it's fair to say it was a long but exciting day for all of us!

Monday we took Jade and Gasper to The American Village in Montevallo and then to eat at Joe's Italian in Alabaster.  Jade and I quite enjoyed ourselves and the historical "living" characters we had the opportunity to chat with throughout the village.  Steve, however, was on the grumpy side from a recovery from Sunday and Gasper I think just thought Jade and I were weird.  George Washington seemed to enjoy us, though! HA! 

28 March 2010

Lazy Days Lately... This is from the last weekend in March...

Graduate School and Work have once again taken over my life and made me incrediably lazy when I am home...thus, no posts.

The last weekend in March, Steve and I went to the Air Show in Montgomery.  We met up with my cousin, Justin, and while we had a great time, managed to fry ourselves in the sun WITH spf 45 on.  I  managed to get some fairly good shots of different planes on the warm and sunny day. 

Steve and I also managed to NOT get jumped while walking 5 miles to the airshow from our parking spot despite passing a gang of 15 or so and several "unlucky" looking fellas along the trek.  You know it's a bad area when a truck pulls over and offers you a ride into the base because the driver is a homicide detective for the city and tells you the only reason we weren't jumped in broad daylight was because there were so many people around.  I just said hi to everyone we walked past as they eyed my purse because I figured if I was more friendly they would be less likely to jump a nice person...trying to psyche myself into positive thinking about the human race - HA!

22 March 2010

what else can I do aside from run...

Today I went on the treadmill at the gym for 30 minutes.  Key part of this previous sentence, went on, not RAN on...HA! 

I am so cardiovascularly out of shape it is ridiculous - my heart doctor told me I need to strengthen my heart to reduce my palpitations and get my heart rate up and likewise, increasing my blood pressure.  Isn't that the opposite of what most people are told?  I eat enough salt for a daily salt lick and my blood pressure is still incrediably low.  Explains why I almost used to and sometimes still do practically faint when I stand up. 

SO, today, since my class was cancelled upon arrival, I drove to the sporting goods store, bought a sports bra, socks, pants and shirt and then drove to the gym.  I decided that today would be the most appropriate day of all to put my 50 dollar per month gym membership to good use since ummm perhaps last October and that is being generous! 

SO, I thought to myself, I will go on the treadmill.  Avoid the gym meatheads and stick with a cardio machine.  My headphones broke last week so I figured I would just watch a tv show and try to read lips...that should keep me occupied for 30 minutes, right?  WRONG.  The tv on my treadmill only works with headphones plugged in.  DUMB.  What do deaf people do?  They don't need the headphones so why waste the energy?   Then I decided I would walk for say, 10 minutes then run for a few and walk some more - you get the idea.  Well time did NOT pass quickly.  I counted meatheads walking into the gym from the second floor window.  I tried to guess the names of cars driving by outside.  I color coded people by their shirts.  I tried to guess the barbeque people were leaving with from the Johnny Ray's next door.  I tried to peek at the time left and heart rates of the two men running on both sides of me.  Epic Fail on all accounts.  I started counting in my head.  Then I started a mantra - One more minute, One more minute - for 29 minutes. 

Needless to say, on all accounts, I will be purchasing new headphones.  I ran a total of perhaps 10 minutes and walked the other 20 in a mixed combo...not bad for an exasperated couch potato. 

Tomorrow I am swimming.

14 February 2010

Pasta Weezie!

Now I know many people don't celebrate Valentine's Day because it is a "hallmark" holiday.  I have a few thoughts on this whole issue.  First, regardless of it being a "hallmark" holiday or not, there REALLY is a St. Valentine; second - is it really so terrible to set a day aside to spend with the ones you love?  I realize that we all should tell and show the ones in our lives that we love, we love them everyday, but let's be real people - we all have bad days and don't necessarily put forth our best effort to support and be kind to those that are important to us.  SUCK IT UP and take a minute, five or heck, twenty-four hours to do something nice for those you really value in your life.  GET OVER THE HARD ASS STIGMA - "happy singles awareness day" or whatever you call it - so you don't currently have a significant other; I bet if you take 3.5 seconds to think about it you have MANY SIGNIFICANT people in your life that would appreciate a "thank you, "I love you", "you make my days better"...I am so tired of people letting society and others dictate their emotions.  You feel and act how you CHOOSE to feel and act so if you are going to be a "negative Nancy" perhaps that is why you are lacking a signifcant other.  If you are not one of the aforementioned, then perhaps, you truly value your morals and are not willing to lower your standards and expectations to simply have a companion - if you are this person, I appreciate you!  You should thus spend Valentine's Day loving yourself =)  You are strong, independent and unwilling to accept less than what you deserve and you know the value of your own love! 

Steve and I decided we would have a "low key" Valentines Day...not spend a lot of money and do something at home for dinner.  SO, we decided to FINALLY use the authentic Italian pasta maker my Dad got me for my birthday (June) and make some homemade pasta sauce while we were at it.  It turned out pretty tasty if I do say so and it was fun to make a meal at home with him.  That is one of the things I really enjoy doing with Steve when we are both home - make homemade meals together!  We have braved pizza from scratch, halloween sugar cookies from scratch (icing and all) and now pasta!  Every time we always end up spending way more than a few hours doing what we thought would be only an hour prep for a meal - lol...we should really know better by now!  In any case, here are a few pictures from our pasta tonight!  The first is with Steve using his pasta rolling skills and the thin white pieces are all the pasta pieces drying in order for use to cut them with the pasta machine into strips...the latter, of course, our tasty homemade, from scratch meal =)  Homemade pasta really does taste much better than store bought - is this because of all the hard work one puts in to create it?  Who knows, all I know is that I was taken back to my time in Italia this past May...sigh...one day we will return...

12 February 2010

Walmart Adventures

Steve and I went to Walmart on Lakeshore on Thursday evening to pick up a few items after buying our new freezer for the half cow we are getting.  

As we were walking into Walmart there was a grill sitting in the parking lot next to a Buick with four people in it.  At first, Steve thought that they may be waiting for someone else to come and load the grill.  I thought it was strange overall but we just went in to the store.

As we were leaving about 30 minutes later, the Buick was still there, the people still inside of it and the Grill still sitting next to the car and the cart return.  Suspicious, possibly not...until you notice the hose still attached the grill with the price tag and chain to keep it from being stolen.  Great Job Walmart on your theft protection; Great job theives on your escape plan - next time you may want to bring a getaway car that fits large items with four people...just a thought

09 February 2010

ONE shoe? Really people?

I would first like to say that I have tried MULTIPLE times to connect my blackberry to this blog - sent pictures, text, etc - but to no avail it is going to internet lala land apparently - grrr...

As I was driving today I encountered, not one, but two shoes in the middle of the road.  Now, mind you, these were not a pair of shoes, they were two seperate shoes, in two totally different places on Morgan Rd.  They did not belong to young children, unless of course, young children wear heels and like size 10 aqua shoes.  I have always wondered, how does one lose ONE shoe in the middle of the road?  Were you driving and decided that your resting foot needed some air?  Or, were you on the phone while driving, get mad at something the other person said and when hitting the dashboard didn't fulfill your craving for rage, decide it was best to chuck your ONE shoe out the window?  If so, I bet you are really regretting that choice now.  Those shoes are probably out of production and no longer in your size - let's just hope they weren't your "favorite" pair.  Perhaps you had a carful of shoes and one day decided it was time to clean house - maybe you should have thought that one out a little better - just like there are starving children, there are also barefoot children - I heard that consignment shops give money for shoes in good condition, too.  But, now you can't even do that since the one shoe is in the middle of Morgan road, weathering the elements and 2 ton cars and trucks driving over it.  Nice job ace.

24 January 2010

Check out his handy work


Steve's been hard at work for the last few months on this project.  I am so proud of him!  There was an ugly pipe sticking out of the wall between our cabinets so he made a towel cabinet with tons of storage!  I think it looks great =)

22 January 2010

Still trying to figure this out

Still trying to figure out these blog posts.  The last two photos I have posted from my phone I have had to open up on the computer and delete a bunch of stuff.  I really wish I understood computer code but that is one more thing I will NOT be adding to my list as of late. 

Our household has been busy the last few weeks.  Honda has picked up production which is great, but Steve has been at the office late every night and will be working Saturdays.  Now most of you would think this is fantastic, but I do not.  They cut his bonus last year because of the economy and he did not get the raise he was supposed to for being there for 3 years.  Well, since the increase in production and more hours in the office one would anticipate he would get a raise or bonus for all the hard work he is putting in - not so much...it is frustrating because he does not enjoy what he is doing to begin with and then he is working hard without any signs of appreciation.

I have started my practicum at Helena Elementary School and am really enjoying the change of pace from being at the Arc.  I know I am going to love working in counseling once the real work starts!  For now, I am enjoying my mentor and all of her experience and knowledge =)  Oher than that I am trying to make time to do things for myself other than think about work.  Not going all that well as of late but hopefully it will change!  I need to make it a priority to make myself a priority! 

Slow weekend expected - possible dinner tomorrow at Joe's with some great friends - we shall see!

The cheapest toys are always the best!


<>Don't be confused - Coconut knows how to amuse herself!








10 January 2010

weenietongue.jpg


Welcome to 2010


So, in sticking with the theme of a new year, new you...I thought I might try this blog thing again. Not really sure how it works or if anyone will read it, but it has potential as does everything else in 2010. Maybe this will turn into something big, maybe not. For starters, I thought it might be fun to share the randomness that is our lives. Perhaps this would be in the form of a picture, a quote of the day, stream of conciousness, who knows - each day will be different.

Today brings...Beans, napping on the couch, no suprise there. However, this time, he decided to cover his ears, apparently he was through listening to us jabber on...